BNP Paribas Masters Paris

The Paris Masters is an annual tennis tournament for male professional players held in Paris, France. It is played indoors at the AccorHotels Arena. The event is part of the ATP World Tour Masters 1000 on the Association of Tennis Professionals (ATP) Tour. Prior to 1990 it was a premier tournament of the Grand Prix Tour and part of the Grand Prix Super Series. The event is usually the final tournament on the tour before the season-ending ATP World Tour Finals. Because of its sponsorship, the event is officially known as the BNP Paribas Masters. Prior to the Tennis Masters Series replacing the ATP Super 9 in 2000, the event was known as the Paris Open. It is also often referred to as the Paris Indoor event.

Ilie Năstase, Andre Agassi, Roger Federer and Novak Djokovic are the only players to have ever won both Parisian tournaments (Bercy and the French Open). Federer won the French Open in 2009 and Bercy in 2011, Djokovic won Bercy in 2009 and the French Open in 2016 and Andre Agassi won both in 1999 like Ilie Năstase in 1973. In 2015, Marcelo Melo and Ivan Dodig won the doubles events at both tournaments. Novak Djokovic is the only player to successfully defend his title in Paris (2013 - 15).

The surface used to be one of the fastest courts in the world which rewarded bold attacking tennis, but since 2011 it has followed the general slow-down of most courts on the tour.